Thursday, June 06, 2019

2019 IISS Exceptional Service Award Goes to Savvas Chamberlain

The International Image Sensor Society (IISS) Exceptional Service Award is presented for exceptional service to the image sensor specialist community. In 2019, this award will be presented to Dr. Savvas Chamberlain for his “Contributions to the organization of what is now the International Image Sensor Workshop”. The award ceremony will be held during the 2019 IISW at Snowbird.

After the 1986 and 1990 Workshops organized by Prof. Eric Fossum, Savvas chaired the 1991 IEEE CCD Workshop and 1993 IEEE Workshop on CCD and Advanced Image Sensors in Waterloo, Canada. Until the Workshop name transitioned to International Image Sensor Workshop, the name of “IEEE Workshop on CCD and Advanced Image Sensors” had been used. He also served as an organizer for the 1995 Workshop. During this period, the Workshop grew substantially and the workshop organization was established.

Savvas is well-known as the founder of DALSA. He started DALSA as image sensor design and image sensor /camera manufacturing in 1980 and led its growth to a 1,000-employee company. His bio is posted here and here.

Thank you very much for your big contribution to our community, Savvas.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are moderated to avoid spam and personal attacks.